Footloose

All things related to Footloose, a team in the DC Kickball's DC Veterans Division

Game On!

Posted by Ren McCormack on May 9, 2006

Only one day and counting until the 2006 season officially begins.  Are you pumped?  Cause I am!

Pre-season Party Recap:

What a great party last Thursday…3 hours of free beer…man, I was in lush heaven.  It was good to get the team out there so that we met each other and competed on the flip cup grid iron.  Though, I must admit that I hope that our kickball skills are better than our flip cup skills, because we got waxed.  I'll chalk that up to first game gitters.  But let's come out flippin' like nobody's business this week.

Jess, Chuck, Ann, Pete, and Bridget          Pete and Ann          Wendy, Meghan, Angie, and Yoamys

Action Item 1:  Post a comment and let me know whether (or not) you will be at our 7:15 game Wednesday night against the Recess Warriors.  My rule is that if you come to a game but did not RSVP, then you are relgated to the bottom of the kicking order and won't start.  I think that's fair enough.   

Scouting Report: 

In this section I will share some tips and tendencies that I pick up on when watching/reffing games.   

The Recess Warriors are one of the original teams from the founding of the league in 2001.  It's too early in the season to know their tendencies.  I did scout them out at spring training camp in Clearwater, Florida, and picked up a few things.  Their captains will argue calls, including balls & strikes.  Don't take any BS (it'll be directed towards the ref, but don't be intimidated).  One of the co-captains, Margaux, just happens to date Jed, our co-captain, so this should make for an interesting battle.  The Retard Warriors are usually a middle-of-the-pack team, and I would expect the same this year. 

Captain's Tip O' the Day:

 In this section I'll give my keys to kickball success.

  • A ball kicked on the ground cannot be caught.  Popups are easy outs.  Kick the ball on the ground.
  • The rules are basically the same as baseball/softball rules, with a few execptions, such as:  
  1.  
    1. Balls, strikes, and foul balls are each counted separately.  Four fouls = an out. 
    2. You can throw the ball at someone to get them out, but you cannot hit them in the head.  If a runner is hit in the head, they are safe (unless they were sliding or intentially moved to create a head shot). 
    3. There is no infield fly rule.  Don't know what that is?  Don't worry about it.
    4. No leading.
    5. No stealing (tagging up is allowed).
  • 4 guys and 4 gals must play the field.  A max of 11 people can play the field at one time.  I'll rotate players to make sure that everyone gets playing time.
  • The kicking order is set at the beginning of the game and remains static.  We are not limited to only 11 kickers; our full roster (26 people) can kick if they show up.
  • When kicking, each team has to provide a 1st and 3rd base coach.  From the division's perspective, their function is to shag foul balls.  From my perspective as captain, the base coaches are there to assist runners by telling them when to run, when to stay, when to go part way (to see if the ball is caught or dropped), and when to tag up. 

Squatter/Ref:

Because we play the late game, we do not need to squat fields this week. 

We do need to provide a ref for the 6:30 game.  I'm more than willing to handle this.  I'll need someone (Jed?) to help the team get organized on the sideline (take their t-shirt, making sure they receive the proper size).  I also will have team socks and other accessories for the team. 

Refreshments:

Action Item 2:  Is someone willing to volunteer to bring liquid refreshments for the team?  What you bring is up to the volunteer (see my first post, which covers this).  Remember cups– we have to be discreet on the Mall (because, you know, 200 people drinking out of red Solo cups fools the popo). 

Only 27 hours and 10 minutes until kickoff…

– Ren

So cum on feel the noize

Girls rock your boys

We get wild, wild, wild

We get wild, wild, wild

So cum on feel the noize

Girls rock your boys

We get wild, wild, wild

At your door

— Cum On Feel the Noize, Quiet Riot

Here's some inside info:  this song is a remake of the 70s glam band Slade.  The album Metal Health also was one of the first cassette tapes that i owned (along with Thriller).  Ha!  Metal Health also was one of the first metal albums to break into the top of the U.S. charts and paved the way for Def Leppard's pyromania (released later in 1983) and Bon Jovi's Slippery When Wet (1986). 

21 Responses to “Game On!”

  1. Erin & Zeb said

    Erin & Zeb are a scratch for week 1….Moving on Saturday. Gotta pack!

  2. Ryan said

    I’ll be there!!

  3. Bridget O said

    Game On, I’m in! Sorry I missed y’all last week.

  4. Justin said

    School’s back in session Recess Warriors!

    I’ll be there.

  5. Peter said

    I’ll be there

  6. Matt said

    Tough week. Will try to be there and likely will make it. Would have more incentive if the first and third base coaches were holding full red solo cups for me.

  7. Jamie said

    exam = no fun. i can’t believe i’m missing the jed/margaux battle…

  8. Wendy said

    I can’t wait for our first game….I probably can’t kick though…I had ACL surgery in December. I forget to mention that earlier!!!

  9. Kathryn said

    I unfortunately will not be at the game, but will hopefully be drinking afterwards. GOOD LUCK!

  10. Brandon said

    I’ll be there!

  11. Paul M said

    I’m in

    The recess warriors better start warming up the short bus.

  12. Bridget said

    I will be there!

  13. Angie said

    Can’t make it tonight! I’m sick- see you next week.

  14. Becky Roemen said

    So, I read in the GMOT that our shirt color was Gold – I thought it was Puce. Despite my disappointment, I will still be at the game tonight.

  15. jayme said

    i’ll be out of town… have a few for me!

  16. Paul said

    Ill be there and Chuck and I will bring beer and cups!…(Chuck take care of this detail…thanks bro!).

    Death to the recessive-gene warriors!

    Metal Health? You know it! Rock On!

  17. Jess said

    I’ll be there

  18. I’ll be there right at 6:30 (for Constitution parking). I can ref if we need it.

  19. Ann said

    I’m out this week 😦
    Good luck!!!!

  20. Meg said

    I’ll be there.

  21. Chuck said

    I’m innnnnnnnnnn

Leave a Reply

 
