Footloose

All things related to Footloose, a team in the DC Kickball's DC Veterans Division

Practice, Practice, Practice

Posted by Ren McCormack on May 25, 2006

What are the 3 keys to success?  Here's a hint:  see the title of this post.

I've received requests from some newbies that having a little teaching session would be a good thing.  Some of the vets could use a little brush up too.  So, we are going to take advantage of an off week to have a team practice/scrimmage tonight (Thursday, May 25) at 6:45 on the usual fields.  We'll go over the positions, kicking techniques, chugging techniques, and then play a little game called kickball until it gets dark or we get tired. 

Afterwards, we'll head up to the X for dinner/drinks.  I know of at least 5 other teams that will be out tonight, so it should be a good night (5 teams on an off night ain't too shabby). 

Our next game is Thursday, June 1, at 7:15.  We'll  need a volunteer to bring the drinks/cups to that game because Angie & Meg promissed to bring plenty of cold brewskies tonight. 

Here is today's newsletter, the Ghost Man on Third, Issue 3

Action Item:  post a comment letting me know whether (or not) you are coming tonight.  This also lets the Bringer of Beverage know how much to buy. 

See you tonight!

Ben (i.e., Ren)

10 Responses to “Practice, Practice, Practice”

  1. Zeb said

    I’ll be there!

  2. Alisa said

    You will see me tonight. Not sure yet if it will be at practice or just the bar…

  3. Alisa said

    to clarify: you will see me at either practice and the bar, or just the bar.

  4. Alisa said

    oh yeah, and i’m calling in sick tomorrow. woohooo.

  5. Hey Ben,

    Is there anyway we can get a subscription list going, so we receive an email when a new blog is posted?

  6. Justin said

    In the immortal words of Allen Iverson: I’m supposed to be the franchise player, and we’re in here talking about practice. I mean listen, we’re talking about practice. Not a game . . . We’re talking about practice. Not a game . . . that I go out there and die for, and play every game like it’s my last. Not the game. We’re talking about PRACTICE, man. I mean, how silly is that? We’re talking about practice. I know I’m supposed to be there. I know I’m supposed to lead by example . . . I know it’s important . . . I honestly do. But we’re talking about PRACTICE, man. What are we talking about? PRACTICE? We’re talking about practice, man . . . We’re talking about practice. We’re talking about practice. We ain’t talking about the game, we’re talking about practice, man. When you come into the arena, and you see me play . . . you see me give everything I got, right? But we’re talking about practice right now. We’re talking about PRACTICE. . . We’re not even talking about the game, the actual game, when it matters. We’re talking about practice.

    Yeah, I’ll be there tonight.

  7. Paul said

    Im in! And like Ben and Alicia Im thinking of taking a “personal day” off tommorrow if I can swing it…..let the good times roll!

  8. Angie said

    I’ll be there but will be late. I’ll call to see if you’re still on the field or at the bar.

  9. Zeb said

    You can be late, Angie, but the beer best be on time.

  10. Walter- In response to your post, it does not appear that I can do anything so that you are notified when I leave a post.

Leave a Reply

 
