Footloose

All things related to Footloose, a team in the DC Kickball's DC Veterans Division

Goonies Never Say Die

Posted by Ren McCormack on August 3, 2006

Don’t you realize? The next time you see sky, it’ll be over another town. The next time you take a test, it’ll be in some other school. Our parents, they want the best of stuff for us. But right now, they got to do what’s right for them. Because it’s their time. Their time! Up there! Down here, it’s our time. It’s our time down here. That’s all over the second we ride up Troy’s bucket.

God damn, do I love this movie.  This is one of the best monologues ever composed.  Here are some other good Goonies quotes:  http://www.methodshop.com/movies/articles/goonies/index.shtml.  And that pic of Brittney Bower ain’t shabby either…

The very best quote is from Mouth:  Yeah, but you know what? This one, this one right here. This was my dream, my wish. And it didn’t come true. So I’m taking it back. I’m taking them all backOh man, that’s good stuff. 

Well, Mouth, my dream of kickball domination didn’t come true either.  But my dream of drunken tomfoolery did, so I guess it all works out.  We played what was clearly our best game of the season, falling to Vandy 5-3.  After the first it was 2-2, 3-2 after the 2nd, and 5-3 after the fourth.  We shut them down in the fifth and got two base runners on before an unfortunate double play to end the game.  It was a really close game and could have gone either with.  I’ve known their captains for years, and they were quite impressed with us.  And damnit, they should be– we played great.  We were just a few plays away from a major upset. 

As Matt kindly pointed out to me last night, the season isn’t over until after the post-season party on August 19.  However, I will take this opportunity to thank ya’ll for one kickass season.  I can’t believe how fast it’s flown by.  It wasn’t all that long ago that we were meeting at the X for our pre-season party.  The challenge will be keeping the party train rolling in the off season.  Happy hours, parties, Blocktoberfest (some time in October), the Oktoberfest in Shirlington (Oct 7), Dewey (Aug 25), white water rafting (details to come), Screen on the Green (next 2 Mondays), DC United/Nats games, concerts, Brew at the Zoo (Aug 24), and whatever else pops up.  You know me, I’m a social cat, so I tend to plan stuff.  So keep checking the blog!   But, I don’t have to be the only planner–you too can step up and plan something! 

Next Thursday is the Silver Spur Sloshing after the championship game.  What’s that mean?  Go to the fields to watch the game then go to the X for 3 hours of FREE BEER from 8-11. 

August 19 is the official end-of-season party at McFaddons.  We have FREE BEER starting at 7pm (methinks) and running until our kegs dry up.  I suggest getting there early (7ish).  We also will hand out the division awards that night.  With a little encouragement and a lot of alcohol I just may to the Truffle Shuffle for you. 

Did you notice that I posted new pics to my Flickr site?  Check them out to the right.  The cool thing about Flickr is that you can download the images in good resolution.  Feel free to pirate them. 

I haven’t had time to do this week’s GMOT yet (F’n work getting in the way of my fun).  Look for it on Friday as a “Round 1 Wrap-up” issue.  I’ll post it here as always. 

Lastly, here a humorous little tale from the life of Ben:  so two nights ago, after a couple beers and a vodka tonic (yea, it’s nice having a stocked bar at home) I’m taking my contacts out before hitting the sack.  I drop one and spend a few minutes searching, but can’t find it.  I have disposibles, and they were at the end of their lifespan anyway, so I trash the other one.  Yesterday I popped in a nice new pair.  Refreshing.  As I’m getting ready for bed at 2:15 last night (lack of sleep is definitely one thing that I won’t miss once the season ends) I drop the same flipping contact.  I spend at least 10 minutes on my hands and knees (keep those comments to yourself, pervs) but, alas, can’t find it.  So I curse myself for being an idiot and pass out.  I wake up this morning, do a quick search, but nothing.  I grab a new contact and open the case to put in the one used contact.  It didn’t look quite right, so I took it out of the case.  It didn’t look right because there were 2 contacts in there.  So I either took it out and put it in the wrong side, then forgot that I took it out (quite possible) or it happened to drop into the case.  I’m going with #2.   

What’s good enough for you Is good enough for me

It’s good enough It’s good enough for me Yeah yeah yeah yeah

Good Enough, Cyndi Lauper

Check out the video on YouTube (it features some classic WWF wrestlers.  Apparently they thought this video was good enough to split into 2 parts.  Thank goodness music videography has come a long way):  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EAcDWaGH5hM

 Goonies Movie Poster      

8 Responses to “Goonies Never Say Die”

  1. Alisa said

    That is SO weird. This morning I went to put in MY contacts and had a similar experience. I put the first lens in, then tried to find the second one in the other side of the case, but it wasn’t there. I looked all around the sink thinking maybe when i took it out the night before I completely missed the case and didn’t notice (quite possible). Couldn’t find it, so I look back in the case and find that it’s in the other side of the case where my first contact was. I ALSO put both my contacts in the same side of the case last night. SO weird.

  2. There must have been something in the beer last night. yea…that’s it…something in the beer…

    It’s called “al-co-hol.”

  3. Alisa said

    I can’t make the end of season party 😦 How about another end of season party – Footloose-only?

  4. Becky said

    No mid season party for me either. Will be hosting a bachelorette party weekend up in Dewey.

  5. Dewey? Never heard of it.

  6. Alisa said

    1. A decimal system for classifying books and other publications.
    2. Something affected by dew (condensed moisture that forms in the evening and early morning on cool surfaces such as grass and beer cans)

  7. Paul M said

    The Goonies is my favorite all time movie. Where I went to school the freshman had to entertain the upperclass at breakfast and lunch everyday since the entire corps sat together for those meals. I was known as sloth because I would yell out in the dining hall, one liners from the movie or to the waitresses. Hey it was better than memorizing articles from the newspaper or the movies at the local theatre.
    “Momma, you’ve been baaaaad”
    “Break, Faaaalll!”
    “Rocky, Road uh huh”
    “Sloth love Chunk!”
    “Echo wo wo wo wo”

    I’ll be in LA for work ont Thurs, but will be there for the end of season party. Don’t you think its too coinciental that the DC Hill division is having our mid-season party at the same place…I guess it helps when you’re on the board…

  8. Alisa said

    Wow. On the board, Paul! You are quite the over-achiever. That’s great. LA….is that Louisiana, or Los Angeles?

Leave a Reply

 
