Footloose

All things related to Footloose, a team in the DC Kickball's DC Veterans Division

Post-Game Wrap-up

Posted by Ren McCormack on May 3, 2007

Well gang, we lost our first game 5-3.  For the most part, we played well.  We got runners on base, we caught some fly balls, and drank a 30 pack.  Our downfall may have been trying to peg the runner, missing, and allowing them to get extra bases.  That’s a high risk/high reward play. 

The game ball this week goes to our new 3rd baseman, Aaron, for catching the ball with his right hand and left knee.  Quite impressive…quite impressive indeed. 

What a strange night at the X, huh?  We didn’t play the team (Ram Rod) that we played kickball against at flip cup cause they were lame and left early (11?).  So we have to play them next week because the league is maintaining a “power ranking” for flip cup this year.  We did, however, play next week’s team (Terry Tate Office Linebackers) in flip cup and did, to be honest, quite miserably.  I think that we were just letting them get a false sense of confidense before we take them down next week.  Yea…that’s it…

And then there was the sorority from GW that rented the X and filled it with freshman.  All I know is that a group of us (who will remain nameless) were there till after 1am playing beer pong.  This morning, 30 seconds after I got in (late, of course) my boss pulls me into a meeting before I could even check my e-mail or fill up my coffee mug.  Brutal.  Just brutal.  I’m sure my eyes were bloodshot and the High Life was still seeping out my pores.  Welcome to kickball season!

We play Thursday at 7:15 next week.  Do some yoga to stretch out those muscles and get come ready to rock.  Thanks to Aaron and Rex for volunteering to bring the beer. 

Becky, can you send me the pics you took?  Thanks, darlin. 

If you’re looking for something to do Saturday night, come out to Science Club in midtown/dupont (19th & M) around 10.  It’s my last day in my 20s, and I want to go out swinging (or drinking).

I hope to see you out there!

Hey now, hey now, don’t dream it’s over
Hey now, hey now, when the world comes in
They come, they come to build a wall between us
We know they won’t win

— Don’t Dream it’s Over, Crowded House

A little something about Crowded House…

Crowded House is a rock group formed in Melbourne, Australia, and led by New Zealand musician and singer-songwriter Neil Finn. Originally active between 1985 and 1996, their notable hits from this period include “Don’t Dream It’s Over,” “Something So Strong,” “Better Be Home Soon,” and “Weather With You.” The group’s output has been described as mainly folk influenced poprock in a decidedly Beatles vein, but Finn’s songwriting skills made them stand out from similar bands. Neil Finn is by far one of New Zealand’s most internationally successful pop musicians.

9 Responses to “Post-Game Wrap-up”

  1. Steve said

    At least I got an awesome sombrero out the deal!

  2. I think the MVP should be the sorocititutes…

    Side note: Please post your requests for this year’s 2007 Footloose mix disc. I’ll try to get it there next game.

    Jed

  3. Kathryn said

    Gosh this is so frustrating because I have a work event AGAIN this Thursday. It is out in Rockville, but I will be ready to drink afterwards, this time around. I am ready to beat these teams with our great drinking ability!

  4. Kendayl said

    Just wanted to say that I’ll be at the game tomorrow ready to go! I have my neon orange socks so I doubt you’ll be able to miss me. see ya’ll tomorrow!
    kendayl

  5. mike s said

    i’m in for this thursday.

  6. mike s said

    i’m in for thursday. see you there.

  7. mike s said

    i’m in for thursday.

  8. audiviser captivatrix mehtarship hattemist framable wildish disreputability sneaky
    Estate Agents Marbella
    http://www.digitalink.co.uk

  9. audiviser captivatrix mehtarship hattemist framable wildish disreputability sneaky
    Chattahoochee High School
    http://celticdreams.esmartweb.com/

Leave a Reply

 
