Footloose

All things related to Footloose, a team in the DC Kickball's DC Veterans Division

Jimminy Suckit

Posted by Ren McCormack on July 18, 2007

Footloose,

The long awaited, much anticipited, highly hyped Halloween in July is finally here.  I hope you have your costumes set, wigs securely fassioned, colars popped, and aviators rockin.

Did I ever tell you that Halloween in my favorite holiday.  Yup.  I’m sure that’s no surprise to you by now–even those that haven’t been to any games.  Even as a kid I loved Halloween even more than the commercialized gift giving day known as Christmas.  A little odd, I know…but I’ve accepted that, and so should you.

Action Item 1:

You coming tonight for the 6:30 game vs Jimminy Kickit?

Scouting Report:

This is a completely winnable game.  They are like us– they like to be relatively competitive, but know that we are all there to have a good time.  The guys (gay or straight) won’t bunt, but some gals might, so the catcher and pitcher need to be prepared.  I also know a handful of JK, and I’d love to have bragging rights, so let’s win one for the Gipper.

Oh, and to pull off a .500 season (50% wins, 50% losses), we need to win both this week and next.

Captain’s Tip of the Day:

It’s been a while since we’ve played an actual game (although, the “must have a cup of beer in hand at all times” rule last week was quite amusing), so let’s remember the basics:

  • Don’t get distracted by your costume/props or anyone elses.
  • Get the ball back to the pitcher ASAP.
  • Don’t pop out (kick that ball on the friggin ground).
  • The team that makes the fewest mistakes always wins.  Think about that.
  • The right fielder needs to back up all throws to 1st base.
  • The base coaches need to be loud and tell the base runners how many outs there are and when to run/stay/go part way.
  • It’s easier to throw the ball to someone covering a base than trying to peg a runner.
  • Tag up on pop flies (even caught foul balls) when appropriate.  The base coaches should help out with this.

Action Item 2– Libations:

Who’s bringing the beer/cups?  If you haven’t brought yet, we only have 3 more games.

Discretionary Funds:

I have a list.  Not everyone has floated me $4 yet.  Don’t make me call out names, please.

Action Item 3– Dewey:

August 11 and Labor Day are the options.  I didn’t get much of a response last week, so PA-LEASE let me know if you’re interested or whether I should scrap the idea altogether.  I haven’t had my Dewey fix all summer, and I’m jonsin’ real bad.

Watching every motion in my foolish lover’s game
On this endless ocean finally lovers know no shame
Turning and returning to some secret place inside
Watching in slow motion as you turn around and say

Take my breath away
Take my breath away

Take My Breath Away – Berlin

Take My Breath Away” is the name of a love song from the film Top Gun, performed by the band Berlin. It won the Academy Award for Best Original Song as well as the Golden Globe Award for Best Original Song in 1987.  The song peaked at #8 in the U.S., but it hit #1 in the Phillipines, so that has to count for something.

The song has been performed by other artists, such as Jessica Simpson, who included it on the special edition of her album In This Skin, the band Copeland on their album of cover songs, Know Nothing Stays the Same, and was translated into Cantonese and covered by Sandy Lam.  The Christian rock band Relient K also covered it as part of their “Top Gun Medley” in a few touBerlinrs of theirs.

Berlin

15 Responses to “Jimminy Suckit”

  1. Marty McFly said

    First off, Teri Nunn was smokin’ hot. Seriously, plus Berlin had several kick ass songs (The Metro, Masquerade, Sex…).

    Marty McFly will be there. McFly will also bring libations for the Grabassky showdown next week, but not this week.

  2. Steve said

    I was all set to come out and then my boss requested that I go to Annapolis tonight on a work mission. So unfortunately Jesus will not be making an appearance in DC tonight – though he may be resurrected in Annapolis…

    Sorry!

  3. Beer Keg said

    The beer keg that you see in every good 80’s movie shall be there. It shall not be dispensing beer this week – but will bring beer next week.

  4. Angie said

    Meghan and I will not be able to make it to the game tonight. We will miss the costumes and can’t wait to see the pictures!

  5. Ryan said

    Ill be there but I’m in training up until this evening so it’s unlikely I can bring beer. I’ll be happy to drink it though if someone else brings it.

  6. Ryan said

    I’ll be there.

  7. Marty McFly said

    Lookin a little thin tonight…

  8. Ryan said

    Game on?

  9. Chance of rain, but games are on. The radar looks clear. Only 1 female yes so far. Come on gals, were are ya?

  10. Mike said

    i’m coming, and lisa will be as well. rebecca told me earlier in the week that she woudl be, as did jeremy… kara’s out, quigley’s iffy, havne’t heard from fissel, kendayl, jessica, stephanie. wade is iffy.

  11. Jed said

    I guess I got beer

  12. Aaron and I will bring mad science experiments

  13. Jeremy D said

    I won’t be there! Damn, I thought it was Thursday this week. Can’t do it tonight.

  14. Marty McFly said

    Science experiments = pain

  15. Digital Photography

    good stuff

Leave a Reply

 
