Footloose

All things related to Footloose, a team in the DC Kickball's DC Veterans Division

Revenge: A Dish Best Served Cold

Posted by Ren McCormack on July 31, 2007

Fate has a strange sense of humor, and she showed it again last Friday when she paired us against K-plunk in the first round of the Silver Spur Tournament.

Fate, it seems, was not pleased with last week’s loss, and decided to give us another chance.  A shot at redemption.  The opportunity to kick some Irish Green ass and show those punks who really should have won last week.

The tournament is single elimination, so this is do or die.  Live and let die.  Put up (out?) or shut up.   Shit or get off the pot.  Be or not be.  Succeed or die trying.

Action Item 1:

Who’s playing at our Thursday, 7:15 game against K-funk?  We are the lower seed, so let’s get the upset.  Last week’s game was tight, so this should be a great Clash of the Titans.  This could be our last game, so get your jollies out now!

Of course, we’re going to win, which means we’ll play next Wednesday.

Captain’s Tip of the Day:

  • After 9 games, do I really need to give any more tips?  I didn’t think so.  Just go out there, relax, play the way you know how, and have a good time.
  • Damien can’t kick for shit, so expect an easy out when he kicks.

Action Item 2- Libations:

Who is bringing the booze?  Win or loose, let’s get blitzed!

Theme:

First, a little history lesson:  the past 3 years, we’ve had the same theme for the final game.  It started out relatively innocently:  create your own character from a certain 80s cartoon.  Well, it didn’t stay innocent very long, and things got dirty.  Very, very dirty.

What was the cartoon?

The Care Bears.

How can you make the Care Bears dirty?

Well, just take this text I received from Alisa:  “So I was on the Metro quite drunk and people were staring at me.  I thought it was because I was drunk on the Metro with a kickball shirt.  Then I saw that I still had on my name tag:  Bend Me Over Bear.”

‘Nuff said.

Inspirational Quotes:

Because I’m not a great motivator, how about these motivating words:

Walter Payton
I want to be remembered as the guy who gave his all whenever he was on the field.


Hakeem Olajuwon
I’ve always felt it was not up to anyone else to make me give my best.


Evander Holyfield
It is not the size of a man but the size of his heart that matters.


Annonymous

Winners don’t wait for chances…they take them.

17 Responses to “Revenge: A Dish Best Served Cold”

  1. Damien said

    HEY !! I resemble that comment !

  2. Ohhhh…Damien…I TOTALLY DIDN’T expect you check the blog this week…

    man…is my face red…

  3. Ryan B said

    I’ll be there.

  4. Becky said

    I shall be there as well – hopefully on time – but maybe running a few minutes late.

  5. aaron said

    I’ll be there.

    “If you can kick a wrench, you can kick a ball.”

  6. Steve said

    I’ll be there as well!

  7. mike s said

    I’ll be there, and both Lisa and Becky Brown will be as well.

  8. I recommend the liquor in juice thing… less conspicuous, more dangerous…

  9. Angie said

    Meghan and I will be there.

  10. Lisa said

    Becky Brown & I will be there. And I too, recommend juice & liquor or soda/liquor in a waterbottle. Easier to hide, quicker to get Care Bear Drunk. I will be Inebriated Bear. ALready called it, so no one can steal it!

  11. aaron said

    My Care Bear Name is: “The” Bear.

  12. Becky said

    Thanks Mike and Lisa for replying on my behalf. I will be there, I’m working on my Care Bear name.

  13. In the past, I have gone with Bookie Bear, Beastiality Bear, but I think I am going after Abasiophilia Bear…

  14. Yo Mamma Bear said

    check this one out, it’s a care bear name generator!

    http://rumandmonkey.com/widgets/toys/namegen/6413/

  15. Kathryn said

    So I am posting now….. but I was there :):) And even though we lost, I will be there next week too…. ready to drink and maybe with more energy this time.

  16. Wow… I couldn’t stand at the end last night. That gatorade packed a punch.

  17. Grabs said

    so what was the score of that game anyway?

Leave a Reply

 
