Footloose

All things related to Footloose, a team in the DC Kickball's DC Veterans Division

Put Me In Coach!

Posted by Ren McCormack on May 8, 2008

Welcome to the 2008 season!

 

I hope that everyone is excited to get the season started with our first victory.  We play Flippin’ Sweet tonight at 6:30.  Our shirts are scheduled to arrive tonight, so where whatever you feel.  Because it may rain, I highly suggest that all women wear white.  For the vets, remember to wear your ringer socks!  Try to show up at least 15 min early so we can get logistical stuff taken care of . 

 

Action Item 1:  Are you going to make the game (yes or no answer, please)?  It’s Footloose policy that if someone doesn’t let me know that they will make the game and shows up that you are automatically relegated to the bottom of the kicking order (I usually make up the order on the Metro ride in).  So that’s your incentive to reply to each blog. 

 

Scouting Report:

 

Flippin’ Sweet is the new name for a returning team, Terry Tate Office Linebackers.  We had a pretty competitive game with them last season, so I expect another one this year.  Get ready to rumble!

 

Libations:

 

This is how we handle drinks each game:  we have one or two volunteers bring a case or two of beer and cups (preferably not clear cups) to the field.  There is a 9-game regular season plus playoffs, so with a team of 25 people, you should only have to bring drinks once.  And it doesn’t need to be beer.  In the past, some inventive people have brought (or made on field) jungle juice or sangria.  Jello shots are quite popular as well. 

 

I normally brings beers the first week, but I have some running around to do after work to get ready for tonight’s game.  

 

Action Item 2:  Who’s gonna bring libations & cups to get the night started right?

 

Weather Report:

 

There is a 50% chance of scattered thunderstorms tonight, which could force the division to cancel games.  Here is the division’s rain policy:  we don’t like to cancel games and we will play in light rain.  The prez will notify captains by 4pm only if games are cancelled.  If they are cancelled between 4pm and game time, she will call me.  I’ll then notify each of you, likely by mass text message (and by e-mail, if I’m still in the office).  There is not a call-in number (although I suggested this to WAKA years ago). 

 

Captain’s Tip of the Day:

 

Each post, I’ll give some advice or explain a rule.  We have a lot of newbies this year, so hopefully this will help explain some basics of the game.

 

         The easiest way to get out in kickball is a pop fly.  Therefore, try to kick the ball on the ground.  This is easier said than done. 

         You do not need to kick every pitch.  Balls and strikes are called.  So wait for a pitch that you want to kick.  I personally tend to get excited and want to kick the first pitch that comes rolling (or bouncing) my way.  Bouncing pitches tend to be popped out (see rule no. 1).    

         The strike zone is one foot to either side of the plate and one foot high.  If the pitch is outside of that, don’t kick it.  That said, we don’t want to be a douchebag team who takes walks when pitches were good enough to kick. 

         The play does not end until the pitcher has the ball in control and in the mound area.  Therefore, it is crucial that we get the ball back to the pitcher ASAP.  Sneaky runners like Jed will exploit teams who do not get the ball to the pitcher.  While Jed loves to be exploited, I don’t think the rest of us do. 

 

Theme of the Week

 

Because we have so many new players, we’re going to keep up the tradition of “Hello, My Name Is” name tags.  To add a little Footloose flair, each week we’ll have a different 80s theme.  So your name tag will include both your real name and your 80s nickname. 

This week’s theme will be 80s cartoon characters.  As an example, I’ll be Cobra Commander. 

 

Action Item 3:  Who’s your 80s cartoon character? 

 

Mulla

 

To help offset season expenses, I ask for $4-5 from each player.  This will go towards the chochkees that I buy throughout the season and the 124 batteries that we blow through.  And yes, I do keep track of who paid and who skimped out.

 

I got a new CD for the season to accompany the other 7 80s CDs we’ve created over the years:  Monsters of Rock (it was an impulse purchase at Target.  It’s 18 songs of pure 80s hair bands.  Oh yea!  Sorry, Pete, that’s “Monsters of Rock,” not “Monsters of C*ck.” 

 

Ref Duties

 

Before/after each game we are responsible for providing a ref.  If we play the 6:30 game, we have to provide a ref for the 7:15, and vice versa.  I’ll take most of these duties unless I can’t get out of work early enough.  I like the abuse of power.  Mruhahahaha! 

 

Chili Cookoff

 

Did anyone get tix?  Who’s going?

 

 

Ok, I think that’s enough for week one.  Respond to the 3 action items.  I’ll go over positions on the field.  Maybe I’ll even draw up some graphics. 

 

See ya tonight! 

 

– Cobra Commander

 

Got a beat-up glove, a homemade bat, and brand-new pair of shoes;
You know I think it’s time to give this game a ride.
Just to hit the ball and touch ’em all – a moment in the sun;
(pop) It’s gone and you can tell that one goodbye!

Oh, put me in, Coach – I’m ready to play today;
Put me in, Coach – I’m ready to play today;
Look at me, I can be Centerfield.

 

Centerfield – John Fogerty

 

A little something about John Fogerty: 

 

Fogerty’s musical career started with Credence Clearwater Revival.  He released two solo albums in the 70s (one under his name and one under the Blue Ridge Rangers) with limited success.  His solo career hit full stride with 1985s Centerfield.  He was actually sued by his previous publishing company who claimed that his top-ten hit “The Old Man Down the Road” sounded too much like the CCR hit “Run Through the Jungle.”  This has to be the only time that an artist was sued for sounding too much like himself. 

 

No, there is no problem with our legal system…

11 Responses to “Put Me In Coach!”

  1. aaron said

    I am in

    Sincerely,

    Stormshadow

  2. Mike S said

    1. yes.
    2. i may be able to bring some beers and perhaps some cups, but likely not enough for the entire team…
    3. name TBD.

    4. i likely won’t play even though i’ll be there – twisted ankle that’s still recovering. but i should be fine next week.

  3. eric j said

    in.

  4. Kristin said

    1. I’m there and will be playing (unlike my brother and Mike)!!!!
    2. Can’t pull my weight on this one this week since I’ll basically be coming straight from work.
    3. Need a name – I’ll work on it!

  5. 1. I am in, I have cones, so I will squat the fields around 5:30ish (though doubtful softball will try to play).
    2. No dice on beverages; maybe next week.
    3. Orko (though I lost my awesome Orko hat)

    4. The weather looks to be fine; the heavier and riskier storms should hold off until 10ish. I have an 8pm soccer game, but should make it back to the bar around 9:30.

    Jed

  6. Steve said

    I’m in but I’ll be arriving late. I thought we were playing at 715 for some reason so I gotta head home to get my kickball clothes!

  7. Ryan said

    1. I’ll be there
    2. I can bring adult beverages and cups
    3. Kickball Smurf

  8. Gary W said

    1. I’ll be there, but on the DL (torn ACL)
    2. Won’t be able to this week
    3. Scrappy-Do!

  9. Leigh Aldrich and Heath Stenberg said

    We are in, see you around 6!

  10. Kathryn said

    1) Not in….. Work event dinner, but hoping it gets out early enough so I can come down to drink!
    2)Nope to the beverages this week
    3)Definitely will not have a name tag at the bar if/when I come later on. Unless someone else wants to think of a name for me 🙂

  11. Leigh Aldrich said

    Call me Shera

Leave a Reply

 
