Footloose

All things related to Footloose, a team in the DC Kickball's DC Veterans Division

Shake It, Baby!

Posted by Ren McCormack on May 29, 2008

Post-Game Wrap Up

I missed the last game, so you’ll have to get the recap from someone else.  Officially we tied 1-1.  In a handshake agreement we played another 2 (?) innings and lost.  But as far as the record books go, we won.  And I hear that we kicked ass on the flip cup table, so that’s what really matters. 

 

Action Item 1:  Who’s Playing?

Tonight we play Ram Rod at 6:30.  Please let me know whether (or not) you will be at tonight’s game. 

 

Scouting Report

Ram Rod is the team of the league president, Amanda.  While she does not take the game seriously AT ALL, some of her male teammates do.  We played them the first game last year, and if you go into the archives and read my scouting report, I thought that they would be a good tune-up game.  Kinda like how Michigan thought that Appalachian State last year.  So, this year I won’t make the same mistake.  This is a completely winnable game, but they won’t be a push over. 

 

Action Item 2:  Warning & Libations

Amanda sent notice that the cops were patrolling the fields last night and had the paddy wagon out there.  My recommendation is that instead of frothy brew that we make some adult punch.  I can bring a big jug to mix it in and some hard alcohol.  Can one or two people pick up ice, cups, and either a few gallons of juice or juice mix and a few gallons of water?  Discuss among yourselves. 

 

Reffing Duties

We play the early game, so someone will have to stay to ref the late game.  I don’t mind doing it. 

 

Captain’s Tip of the Day

          Ancient Chinese Proverb say:  “Ball kicked on grass no can be caught by hummingbird in air.” 

          If you are the catcher, just be cautious of runners coming home—you don’t want to get plowed into.  If it is a force out at home—meaning the runner on third base has to run home, then you may either touch the base or the runner.  If it is not a force out, then you must touch the runner with the ball (this is called a non-force out). 

          The division is starting to play with 2 first bases.  As a kicker, run to the outside base (the one to the right).  If you play first base, the one that you need to touch is the inside base.  This is a safety measure.   

 

Social Calendar

An addendum to the social calendar:  it looks like the mid-season party/scavenger hunt will be Saturday, June 28.  I don’t have the details yet, but wanted to let you know so you can mark your calendars. 

 

WAKA Sucks a Big Fat One

I can tell you why later, but don’t want to ruin my night getting fired up.  Basically, they are money grubbing dickheads.  (That’s not slander…don’t sue me!)  We should have switched to DC Kickball.  After 7+ years in WAKA, they have lost my business.  Competition is a good thing. 

 

Speaking of law suits, here is the ruling of WAKA v DC Kickball:  https://ecf.dcd.uscourts.gov/cgi-bin/show_public_doc?2006cv0984-22

 

This is nothing new, just something I found yesterday.  Here’s a reading hint:  skip to the conclusion at the end. 

 

Chochskies

I haven’t had time to buy new ringer socks yet, but I should have them by next week.  If you have any ideas of how to expand on our 80s garb, let me know! 

 

I’ll have the checklist tonight and will be taking donations. 

 

 

 

We started drinkin’, weren’t thinkin’ too straight
She was doin’ 80 and she slammed on the brakes
Got so high we had to pull to the side
We did some shakin’ till the middle of the nightShakin’
Snappin’ her fingers
She was up and down and ’round and ’round
Shakin’

Shakin’

 

 

 

Shakin’ – Eddie Money (from ’82 album No Control)

 

If you’re a fan of Guitar Hero:  80s Edition, then you know this song!

12 Responses to “Shake It, Baby!”

  1. PJ and V Brady said

    Both of us will be there.

  2. Becky said

    I’m in, Kathryn Zoli is not.

  3. I will be there… I have a case of beer, but will save that for next week when the po-po will be less likely to be breathing down our backs.

    Click the Walter Gibson for Eddie Money fun.

  4. Ryan said

    I’m in — no can do on the libations however.

  5. Emily said

    I’ll be there!

  6. Russell said

    I’ll be there (finally) and will bring juice and some coke (filled with capt)…I will also grab ice and cups…

  7. Kristin said

    I’ll be there as will Mike and Gary (even though he can’t play). Rory is out.

  8. aaron said

    i will be there.

  9. Steve said

    I’m there!

  10. Jeremy said

    Meghan and I will be there after a year-long hiatus. I may be a little rusty at flip cup, but I think it’s one of those skills that once you have, it stays with you forever!

  11. Becky said

    Leigh and Heath aren’t coming tonight.

  12. Leigh Aldrich said

    I am on my way to Teaxas and Heath is working, sorry it took me so long to respond, work sucks a big one today.

Leave a Reply

 
