Footloose

All things related to Footloose, a team in the DC Kickball's DC Veterans Division

Vacation’s Over Bitches

Posted by Ren McCormack on July 10, 2008

Footloose,

I hope that you enjoyed your week off, but now it’s time to get your game face back on.

Post-Game Wrap-Up

The last game was ALL Footloose, all the time. We wiped up the Recess Rejects 8-0 despite playing on a super tiny field with plenty of distractions (like, say, the duechbag throwing the softball in the pond).

Post-Hunt Wrap-up

Unless your name was Steve and your pussed out and bailed early, it was a blast. For some reason, the kickball turnout was low this year. Not sure if it was because of the number of new teams, weddings, or if people took the next week off to make a 2-week vacation. But those that were there, well, don’t quite remember the entire day… Thanks PBR! The pics from the bar that Jed and I tsared are on Flickr.

Action Item 1

Are you coming to the 6:30 game vs the Cemetary Dawgs? Yes, no, or maybe so, please.

Scouting Report

The Dawgs are a new team this year, and I don’t foresee us having any problems handling them. This is the navy blue team that we played in flip cup a few week’s back. I think they’ll be a fun team to play.

Action Item 2

We need a volunteer for libations and cups.

Action Item 3

The theme this week is 80s fads. Be creative!

Captains Tip of the Day

  • When running to 1st after you kick, do not watch the ball– that slows you down. Just run hard assuming that it will be a close call.
  • Run through, not to, 1st base. That way you keep a full head of momentum and won’t hurt yourself trying to stop on the base.
  • If you sit out between innings, pick a person of the same sex to switch with the next inning so that we don’t delay the game.
  • Remember to help yourself to the schwag bag!

Social Calendar

Next Monday is the first Screen on the Green. I’ll probably send a separate e-mail about that.


Vacation

All I ever wanted

Vacation Had to get away

Vacation

Meant to be spent alone

A week without you

Thought I’d forget

Two weeks without you

and I Still haven’t gotten over you yet

— Vacation, The Go-gos

17 Responses to “Vacation’s Over Bitches”

  1. mike s said

    i’m in for the game. two nights in a row…i might die.

  2. I’m there, odds are I will be there first.

  3. Becky said

    1. I will be there.
    2. I know I haven’t provided drinks yet, but can’t this week, promise to next week.
    3. So many good fads to choose from, have to think today on that… Here’s some help for those who may need it: http://www.crazyfads.com/80s.htm.

  4. Becky said

    Steve’s in Mexico so he won’t be at the game.

  5. aaron said

    I will be there, finally!

  6. Russell said

    I’m in for the game and bar…
    Coming from work so no on the drinks…
    JAMS shorts may have been the best fads of all time (close second are of course Members Only jackets)…

  7. Aly said

    1- I’ll be there!
    2- I’ll try to bring some beverages, but not promises
    3- SLAP BRACELETS! They were banned from my elementary school…

  8. PJ and V said

    Our movers are going to be here between 2-4pm to ship all our shit to Belgium. Don’t worry, the jorts are still with me. Assuming the movers get here on time and have no issues we will both be there. This will be V’s last game so lets make it a doozy!

  9. PJ and V said

    oh yeah…

    2. We are bringing a 2-4 of Miller of the Lite variety
    3. Hypercolor Tees! That was late 80s right?

  10. Emily said

    1. i’m in…yay!
    2. I can’t bring beer this week…coming straight from work.
    3. Slap Bracelets…i think they were late 80’s.

  11. Aly said

    Hold the phone- all hell just broke (foot)loose at work, and I now have a mandatory, emergency meeting at 5!

    I’m going to have to say I will not be making the game this eve, barring any miracles… BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

  12. 2 girls down, 2 to go…come on ladies!

  13. Eric said

    I’m out for tonight.

    Mike said he may be a couple minutes late, but he’ll be there.

  14. Becky said

    Do we have a 4th girl yet? We have me, Emily and Vi. Leigh is out of town. Kristin or Zoli?

  15. Heath said

    Hey all, I am in for tonight, but Leigh is in London.

    I like scratch and sniff.

  16. we are at 3 gals, assuming that V is on time. Zoli is out until next week (man, a 3-week vacation would be nice!). Hopefully Aly’s meeting will not run long, but I would feel WAAAY more comfortable with another gal coming. I’d hate to forfeit because we didn’t have enough gals show up.

  17. Hey… I may not be able to check this again today, but I will be there.

    Jed

Leave a Reply

 
