Footloose

All things related to Footloose, a team in the DC Kickball's DC Veterans Division

Time to Put Out or Shut Up

Posted by Ren McCormack on July 24, 2008

Post-Game Wrap-Up

Last week we showed the league that we deserve the #4 seed as we took down the returning champs 9-1. Our offense was kicking and we had a pretty staunch D with few errors. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again—the team that makes the fewest errors wins. Jed locked down 3rd base, PJ showed his ballet technique with a nice petit allégro over a throw at 2nd, and Pete skipped the X to get laid. So all three were all stars.

We were seated inside for the first time all year. And what fun it was. Bunt Funk was kind enough to flash us for the promise of $5, then we had a flip cup royale vs. Vandy that came down to a team flip off (we won after starting out 2 cups behind). After trying to get Dance Party USA started at the bar, we took the party to Madhatter. The best part: both bars played the Kenny Loggin’s classic song, Footloose.

Action Item 1: RSVP

Tonight the tournament starts. Here’s how it works: it’s single elimination, which means one loss and your season is done. Jed sent the GMOT, which includes the bracket.

Respond whether or not you can make it tonight.

Jed agreed to squat, which I bet means that he’ll ref for us too.

Scouting Report

We are the 4 seed playing the 13 seed, Kickin’ Nuggets. Now the Nuggets got blasted by Spin the Bottle last week. But here’s the deal—anything can happen in the playoffs because teams take the games more seriously and actually try…I mean TRY! Last year Vandy won as the 6 seed and before that Tony’s Tigers came from 14 seed to get to the championship game before falling to Spin (their adrenaline was pretty much spent after the quarterfinal game).

Bottom line: I want to live to play another day, so let’s Kick them in the Nuggets then go drink at the bar.

After we win tonight, we will play next week at 6:30 against the winner of (likely) We Got the Runs (the 5 seed) and the Headhunters. If you want to know why that is likely, then read the GMOT.

Captains Tip of the Day

Kick the ball on the ground so that it can’t be caught for an easy out.

Get the ball back to the pitcher ASAP, even if there is commotion (for example, earlier in the season there was disagreement over whether someone was safe or out. As the bickering ensued, a smart runner on 3rd trotted home). So think out there as both a fielder and runner.

A big mistake that inexperienced teams make is throwing the ball around chasing a runner. Some times it’s better to cut your losses and get the ball back to the pitcher. For example, say we throw the ball to 2nd and miss. Then we try to peg him at 3rd and miss, and he scored. Meanwhile, the runner on first is now standing at 3rd base instead of 1st. It’s a judgment call, so just use your heads and listen to your teammates.

Right field: remember to back up throws to 1st; we don’t want to give up any free bases.

Whoever pitches, remember that a ball with a little bounce to it is easier for the kicker to pop up, so don’t make the pitches too smooth.

Kickers: you don’t have to kick every pitch. Wait for a nice one. You get 4 foul balls and 3 strikes before you are called out, so wait for a nice one.

Action Item 2: Libations

Who’s bringing the booze this week? If you haven’t brought it yet, time to step up! Some of us have brought 2x now. Remember to bring ice and cups too.

Action Item 3: Theme

This week’s theme is my all-time favorite. I don’t recall the exact origins, but 3 seasons ago we came up with the idea, and boy did it go a place I wasn’t expecting (which was very naïve of me). The theme? Create your own Care Bear. Much like the game Never Have I Ever, it doesn’t take long before people’s minds go to a dirty, dirty place. Ever since that first fateful year we introduced the theme, it’s become tradition to repeat it the first playoff game of the year.

My favorite story was from our little vet Alisa who now is in NYC for some crazy reason. I get an e-mail the next day that says something to the affect of, “So I’m on the metro on my way home at the end of the night and I realize that everyone is giving me strange looks. Now, I thought that it was because I was wearing a cool kickball shirt. Nope. I still had my Bend Me Over Bear name tag on.”

I can’t wait to see what you pervs come up with.

Goodbye to You

As you may know, we are loosing a stalwart of the Footloose dynasty. Our own little Pony Tail Pete is moving to the greener pastures of Denver and this will be his last game after 7 years on the team (tied for 2nd longest). So let’s send him off in style—with strippers and booze! Oh, and a victory.

Social Calendar

Friday Aaron is is haven’t a launch party for the literary journal he and his buddy’s manage. It’s a $10 cover for OPEN BAR. $15 to receive a copy of the journal and help him defray the cost of publishing. It’s a roller derby theme, and there will be real like roller derby chicks there. Is this in a dingy bar? Hells no! It’s in an art gallery. Check yo evite.

– You should have received Aaron/my evite for the party on the 26th. If not, let me know. Hope you can make it! Please RSVP so we know how many kegs to buy.

Screen on the Green is the next four Monday nights. Even if you aren’t familiar with the movie (like me), they are fun/relaxing to sit on the Mall, eat, drink, and chat. I’ll send and evite each Monday.

Aug. 21 is Brew at the Zoo. Tix are $55 for non-members (*ouch!), but it’s fun and for a good cause. http://nationalzoo.si.edu/ActivitiesAndEvents/YoungProfessionals/AfterHours/

– We should do a Footloose night at a Nats game. Either a Friday, Saturday, or Sunday. I’m thinking Friday. Any interest?

Could I have loved someone like the one I see in you
I remember the good times baby now, and the bad times too
These last few weeks of holding on
The days are dull, the nights are long
Guess it’s better to say

Goodbye to you
Goodbye to you
Goodbye to you
Goodbye to you

–Goodbye to You, Scandal

8 Responses to “Time to Put Out or Shut Up”

  1. I friggin’ rule… oh yeah, that should be Loggins’, not Loggin’s.

    S.S. Grammar Polizei

  2. aaron said

    i don’t think i can make it…work sucks. 49 proposals due on one day…oh, wait, never mind…50, they just told me it’s 50.

  3. Becky said

    1. I’m in – PJ and Russell are out.
    2. I brought a case last week so no booze from me this week.
    3. The only thing I ever think about at work is kinky carebears. I’ll come up with something good.
    4. I’ve responded to all my evites.

    P.S. I like how you say Pony Tail Pete, but if nothing has changed in the last 3 years, tonight we shall be calling him Bukake Bear. http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=bucackie

  4. Emily said

    1. Hells Yeah I’m In!! I’ll be there early so i can help ref if need be.
    2. I can bring beer again if no one else can. What i can’t bring is a cooler.
    3. The carebear thing will take some time…but trust me it will be darn good!
    4. I have responded to all evites.

  5. Ryan said

    I’ll do my best to make it there.

  6. Aly said

    Mike (he’s done with class) and I will be there!

    We will also bring beer, but we don’t have a cooler so it will be backpack beer.

    Carebear name in the works…

  7. Steve said

    I will be there.

  8. Heath said

    Leigh and I will be there, but have to run afterwards, little sis is in town.

Leave a Reply

 
