Footloose

All things related to Footloose, a team in the DC Kickball's DC Veterans Division

Sign of Good Things to Come

Posted by Ren McCormack on July 9, 2009

Footloose!

Tonight we return from what I’m sure was a long Independence Day weekend full of alcohol, fireworks, and hangovers.  Well, at least mine was. 

I have a good feeling about tonight’s game.  Why?  Because as I was shaving this morning “Separate Ways” from Journey came on the radio.  If what wasn’t a sign, then I don’t know what is.  On a completely separate and unrelated note, I do not advising trying to sing Steve Perry while holding sharp objects.  *ouch

Action Item 1:  You Playin’ or What?

The scouting report on tonight’s foe, Angry Jays Army, looks like this:  the Army is a verteran team who joined the 2nd year of the division and went to the championship game that year.  They are a constant contender for the Silver Spur (championship trophy), so you know they are one of the better teams.  So bascially, we need to bring our A game.  So shake of the weekend hangover and get ready for a great game.  We play at 7:15, but plan to arrive around 7pm if possible. 

Captain’s Tip of the Day:

  • If you pop up, you owe the team 10 pushups or one shotgunned beer.  Your choice. 
  • Their pitcher, Joe, has a wicked cuve to his pitches.   Think bowling style.  As always, you do not need to kick the first or even 2nd pitch– wait for one that you like.  I personally get amped and want to kick the first pitch and need to tell myself to relax.  If you have boobs, he may give you one or two fast pitches, but he’ll slow it down if you’re about to strike or foul out.  If you have kibbles & bits, don’t expect the same curteousy. 
  • Keep in mind that it’s easier to get an out by throwing it to the teammate covering the base, not at the runner. 
  • If you play 2nd base (ladies), this means that you stand equidistant from 1st and 2nd base.  We’re not very good at this. 
  • If you play shallow center, then you are the person who takes throws to 2nd base.  You do not need to stand on the base–standing a few steps back should allow you enough time to get the base and to cover kicks to shallow center field. 
  • Outfielders, remember to use your cut offs. 

Action Item 2:  Libations

Who’s bringing the liquid fun tonight?  That’s another reason to arrive early–to put a few down. 

Action Item 3:  Theme

Tonight’s theme will be 80s products.  OOOOHHHH…a tough one you say.  Well, there is this really fancy invention called Google that you can use.  And I would counter that this is an easy theme, because it can be just about anything. 

Socail Calendar:

Friday Night:  Legwarmers at the State Theater.  I sent an e-mail about this. 

July 16:  METAL MANIA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

July 20-August 10:  Screen on the Green   Note that the full list of movies has been released! 

August 22:  End-of-Season party.  Save the date now. 

Metal Mania Update:

AS you should know, next week is Metal Mania VI.  After Halloween and Happy Yuengling, this is my favorite time–dare I say holiday–of the year.  And no, I’m not joking.  I don’t joke about things this serious. 

You know the basics:  come up with your own costume (the more over the top, krimped, spiked, spandexed, and outragious the better), band name (must be an original, not an actual band), and overall persona.  If you don’t want to ride Metro in full 80s regalia, there is a rest room behind the “hill top” field that you can change in.   AFTER the games, stay in costume, cuz we’re gonna tear the town up like your name is Tommy Lee and it’s 1983 on the Sunset Strip.  We’re not sure if we’ll stay at McFaddens or use that as a launching point to another bar with an 80s nigt (we used to go to Heaven & Hell in AdMo, who has since discontinued it). 

I can’t wait to see all the crazy costumes and band names that you all created.  I’ve heard rumors or cod pieces, spiked leather dog collars, and mullet wigs.  Personally, I’m thinking of sporting leather pants, so I hope that it’s not 90 degrees with 90% humidity.  Even if it is, my ass simply looks too good in them to not wear them.    

In addition to your feather boas and Aerosmith-inspired unitards, each of you should come up with your fictitious band name.  Use these classics as inspiration:  Dokken, Guar, Danger Kitty (a fake one), Faster Pussycat, Warrant, Ratt, LA Guns, Bon Jovi, Def Leppard, Whitesnake, Moterhead, Stryper, Poison, Motley Crue, Fat Guy Trio, King Cobra, Twisted Sister, Quiet Riot, Slaughter, Clay Aiken, Spinal Tap, and Skid Row.    If you can’t come up with your own name, try combining parts of 2 of the above bands.  For example, Quiet Tap or Twisted Poison.  

Need some inspiration?  Use the websites:

www.bighairmetal.com

Which 80s Hair Band Are You?   http://selectsmart.com/FREE/select.php?client=hairband

VH1:  www.vh1.com/music/radio/ stations/hair_band/station.jhtml

 Hair Metal Confidential:  www.globalpopconspiracy.com/confidential/hairmetal/

Wiki:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glam_Metal

Metal Sludge, premier Glam Metal site & community:  www.metalsludge.tv

 Sleaze Roxx, band bios:  www.sleazeroxx.com

Glam Metal, news & interviews:  http://glam-metal.com/

Someday love will find you

Break those chains that bind you

One night will remind you

If he ever hurts you

True love won’t desert you

You know I still love you

I love you girl

I really love you girl

12 Responses to “Sign of Good Things to Come”

  1. I’ll be there.

    I doubt I will be bringing booze.

    I will be bringing my Commodore64 and joystick.

  2. Chris said

    Action Item #1:
    I will be attending the festivities.

    Action Item #2:
    I am not bringing anything.

    Action item #3:
    I will be coming as a neon yellow Slap Bracelet.

  3. Becky Roemen said

    Action Item 1: I’ll be there
    Action Item 2: Not this week – I’m planning some special libations for metal mania, my favorite day of every summer! (take friday off if you haven’t already…)

    I shall be coming as a slap bracelet (or snap bracelet).

    A slap bracelet (or snap bracelet) is a bracelet consisting of layered, flexible stainless steel bistable spring bands sealed within a fabric cover. The bracelet can be straightened out, creating tension within the springy metal bands. The straightened bracelet is then slapped against the wearer’s forearm, causing the bands to spring back into a curve that wraps around the wrist, securing the bracelet to the wearer.

  4. Becky Roemen said

    Alright, apparently we were declaring our snap bracelet love at the same time. I guess that means I have to switch to shoulder pads.

  5. aaron said

    it’s looking grim, folks. I have to work late tonight.

  6. Emily said

    Action Item #1: I’m in!

    Action Item #2: Becky and I are preparing some fantastic libations for Metal Mania. So I’m definitely bringing them next week.

    Action Item #3: I will be coming as a Pogo Ball.

    A Pogo Ball is pretty much just what it sounds like. Similar in function to a pogo stick, a Pogo Ball resembles the planet Saturn. Basically, it’s a ball shaped like a figure eight with an octagonal platform around the middle of it (essentially creating a ball on top and bottom). You stand on the platform squeezing the upper ball with your feet and then jump and bounce around to your hearts content or until you pass out from exhaustion.

  7. Russell said

    I’m in for the game but have to leave right after to attend a family dinner…
    No libations tonight from but I will bring them the week after Metal Mania (since it already seems like Becky & Emily have that one covered)
    Just like last year–best toy every invented for kids in the 80’s, GOTCHA GUN (paint ball gun)…and as my parents found out, no the paint doesnt come out of the sofa like advertised in the TV comercial..

  8. Chelsea said

    Action Item #1: I’m coming 🙂

    Action Item #2: Already brought beer last game, but I have lots of cups from last time I can bring!

    Action Item #3: I will be coming as Legwarmers!

    You know what legwarmers are – who doesn’t? 🙂 Gotta love em!

  9. Kristin said

    I’m in!

    I’ll bring some libations and cups.

  10. I have to shutdown my computer and Install some new hardware… I will be at metal mania, Becky will be bringing my booze, Ben and Aaron will be riding in with me, my metal band name will be “Ocean of Filth” (with smash #39 hit “You Can’t Make Me Drink Enough” and power ballad “Touch Me Hard”), and the capital of Nebraska is Lincoln.

  11. Bubble Safari Freebies…

    […]Sign of Good Things to Come « Footloose[…]…

  12. Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

 
