Footloose

All things related to Footloose, a team in the DC Kickball's DC Veterans Division

Let’s Get Physical

Posted by Ren McCormack on July 23, 2009

Post-Mania Wrap Up

Well gang, we tied the d*ckhead team 3-3 (methinks) last week.  We definitely got runners on base, but had problems getting them home.  Definsively, we were rock solid for 90% of the game.  But, as history has shown, the team that makes the most errors usually loses.  A few select error nearly cost us the game.  Our tying run came when Fernanda (aka, Dark Angel 2) kicked a well-placed, slow rolling ball towards first base.  Because I was wearing my aerodynamic faux snake skin pants, I was able to make it from 1st to home for the tying run.  The game ball of the night, however, definitely goes to Jed for getting three thirds of our outs.  He was like a vaccuum, swallowing up anything that was between the 3rd base line and 2nd base. 

Thanks definitely goes to Becky, Chelsea, and Emily for bringing 4 jugs of jungle juice, 2 flavors of jell-o shots, and a reserve 12-pack of beer. 

After the game, we kicked the libations then made our way to McFaddens for flip cup.  Then we split there for 80s night.  The first bar was dead, but we had no problem making our own scene.  Then we gave Heaven a try.  It was 1/2 dead, but again, we made our own fun, as the pics show.  If nothing else, it’s fun to scare people on the street when you’re totally decked out and no one else is.  We allegedly got jumbo slice on the taxi ride home, but all I found was an empty box on the front stoop the next morning next to my backpack. 

Scouting Report

Funny enough, the team we play tonight (Cemtary Dawgs) is the other team who filled in with us when we didn’t have enough people (the other team was the d*heads).  They forfeitted that night too, so they were happy to play.  We like them. 

I’ve never seen them play, but my gut tells me that this is a game for us to win.  And with only one regular season game left before the playoffs, we need to get another victory under our belts to improve our team standing.  So let’s kick some butt.  My prediction:  Footloose 4-2. 

Action Item 1:  Who’s Playing?

We play the 7:15 game tonight.  Please reply so I have a head count.  People have not been very responsive lately.  For shame.  For shame.  I won’t give any grief tonight because I got the post up so late.  Bad Ben…bad Ben…

Also, it’s our night to take the ball bag (3rd and final time).  If you know that you are driving next week and want to volunteer to take it, mucho gracias.  We play at 6:30 next week for our final regular-season game. 

Captain’s Tip of the Day:

  • Relax and kick.  Just keep your head down, lean forward, get your knee overtop of the ball, and try to kick the top half of the ball.  So you know, relax and think of that.
  • Remember:  if you throw the ball, it’s easy to miss, so it’s better to throw to the person covering the base. 
  • Pop Quiz, hotshot:  There is zero or one out with a runner on 2nd base.  Where should you kick the ball?   Answer:  towards the right side of the field (1st/2nd base side).  Why?  to advance the runner and put them in scoring position. 
  • The catcher, pitcher, and 3rd baseman need to communicate on who has any bunts.  If it only goes 1 foot, the catcher likely will take it.  If it’s up the 3rd base line, obviously the 3rd baseman.  If it’s up the 1st base line, it is best for the catcher to take it because she’ll have a straight throwing path to 1st base. BUT, if  its far up the 1st base line, the pitcher probably will take it.  So as every past girlfriend has told me, communication is a good thing. 

Action Item 2:  Theme

This week’s theme will be 80s ikons.  You can define ikon as you will.  Could be a sports hero (Joe Montana, Carl Lewis, Flo Jo, Magic Johnson), music star (Michael Jackson, Madonna), actor/actress (Anthony Michael Hall, Molly Ringwald), or fake ikon (Alf, the Noid, Spudz Mcenzy).   Yes, this will take some creativity; but, as you showed last week, you’re capable of it!

Action Item 3:  Libations

Who’s bringing beer/cups?  If you haven’t yet, you have at least 3 more chances (tonight, next week, the playoffs). 

short_circuit-1

Social Calendar:

Friday:  The 80s movie in Rosslyn is Short Circuit.   Anyone interested? 

Monday, July 27:  For those vets that remember Chau, captain of the Ball Hogs, she’s back in town from San Diego.  Happy hour at Whitlows. 

July 31-Aug. 2:  Stu, a buddy of Aaron and me, is having people to his house on a lake in Delaware (about 20 min north of Rhehobeth Beach).   It’s a weekend of drinking games, bonfires on the small beach, wake boarding, and hot tubbing.  I’m sure he’d be cool with Footloose crashing the party (he’s on Legion of Doom).  Let me know if you want details.  Other kickballers will be there. 

Monday Aug. 3:  Screen on the Green movie is “On the Waterfront.”  I’ll be there early to set up camp, eat dinner, and polish off a bottle of wine.  It’s really nice to get there early (6:30ish, if not earlier), grab a good spot, and chill.  I highly suggest you join us. 

Monday, Aug. 10:  The final SOTG movie is “Rebal Without a Cause”

Saturday, Aug. 22:  End-of-Season kickball party.  Book it.  Book it. 

I’ve been patient, I’ve been good
Tried to keep my hands on the table
It’s gettin’ hard this holdin’ back
If you know what I mean

I’m sure you’ll understand my point of view
We know each other mentally
You gotta know that you’re bringin’ out
The animal in me

Let’s get physical, physical
I wanna get physical, let’s get into physical
Let me hear your body talk
Your body talk, let me hear your body talk

–Physical, Olivia Newton-John

Olivia-Newton-John_In_Physical-01

11 Responses to “Let’s Get Physical”

  1. Russell said

    I’m in…
    Anthony Michael Hall, maybe the greatest 80’s actor (Vacation, Sixteen Candles, Weird Science, Johnny Be Good, just to name a few)
    I will have a cooler full of beer, ice and cups to keep everyone hydrated…
    I’m driving tonight and someone from EO will drive next week so I/we can take the stuff if you need/want us to…

  2. Emily said

    Hey all! I can’t make it out to the game tonight. GOOD LUCK!!

  3. Steve said

    I’m stuck in Arkansas for work so I wont be there tonight…sorry!

  4. Becky R. said

    I’m in – need to think on my 80’s icon though.

    Not in for booze – did my duty. 🙂

  5. Chris said

    I’ll be there.

    Uncle Jesse

    I’m not bringing S*#%.

  6. Breanne said

    I’m finally home from NY and happy to be in for tonight. I’ll bring beer.

    Icon: Princess Diana…. if i were shorter I would have gone with Mary Lou Retton, but I can’t quite pull that off.

  7. Derek and I will be there….

    Patty Smyth was hot!

  8. Fernanda said

    guys i wont make this one. Every time you kick a foul ball or do something terrible on the field think of me 🙂

  9. Chelsea said

    I’m in 🙂

    Will think of an 80s icon before tonight…

  10. aaron said

    hopefully i will be there.

  11. Kristin said

    Will be there.

Leave a Reply

 
