Footloose

All things related to Footloose, a team in the DC Kickball's DC Veterans Division

And Then There Was One

Posted by Ren McCormack on July 30, 2009

Post-Mess Wrap-Up

What can I say about last week’s game?  It was sloppy– really sloppy.  We were soaked to the bone.  People were slipping and sliding all over the place (some one purpose, some because they couldn’t help it).  The d*head bike cop made us empty our cups and threatened to take “the first 10 people he sees drinking to jail” (no joke).  Don’t worry, we finished our cooler anyway.  All that said, it was truly the most fun that I’ve had at kickball in years.  And not because we squashed them something like 12-2.  It was just fun to push through the elements and play a game with abandon.  Thanks to all the super troopers to stuck it out.  Special props to those of us that weathered it (get it?!) and made it to the bar.  Most of the other teams chose dry clothes over flip cup.  That was the wrong call, but it was a fun night, even if “our” area wasn’t packed with kickballers. 

Scouting Report

Tonight we play last year’s returning champion, Flippin’ Sweet.  Needless to say, this is one of the better teams in the division.  I don’t think they are the best, and they definitely are beatable.  We just need to play solid D to keep the game close.  They DO have female bunters, so the catcher needs to be someone who can make the throw to first (see Tips of the Day for a defensive strategy).  We didn’t have any problems getting runners on base last game, but that was because the ball was so dang slippery.  Once it stopped raining, the Ballers D tightened up.  We’ve had problems all season getting runners on base, which is something that we need to improve if we are going to make a run in the playoffs. 

This is the last game of the regular season.  Next week, the playoffs start.  The tournament is single elimination, which is a fancy way of saying you lose and your season is over; you win, and you live to play another day.  Every good coach tells their players how you practice is how you will perform on game day.  Think of the entire season as practice for the tournament.  Let’s go out there tonight and play like it’s the tournament. 

Action Item 1:  Roster Patrol

PLEASE let me know if you plan to be at tonight’s 7:15 game.  Yes, it’s at 7:15, which is a different time than listed on the schedule that I have (and the one you likely have too).  Remember that if you don’t tell me you’re coming and show up, you get less playing time and kick at the bottom of the order. 

Captain’s Tip of the Day:

  • Don’t pop out unless you want to sing a verse from your favorite 80s song.  I’m not joking. 
  • We need a strong outfield performance tonight.  Dropped pop flies are lost opportunities for easy outs. 
  • The shallow center fielder, short stop, and 2nd baseman (all women) need to communicate on who has the throw to 2nd base.  Talk ladies! 
  • The 2nd baseman doesn’t stand near 2nd base– you split the difference between 1st and 2nd. 
  • Defending the bunt (or the munt–the male bunt– which I don’t expect tonight):  the catcher, pitcher, and 3rd baseman need to communicate and call “I got it!” if it’s your ball.  If the ball is kicked towards 3rd base, it’s likely the 3rd baseman’s ball, unless he can’t get there.  Why?  because Jed will have the momentum to get there and make the throw, compared to the pitcher, who has to collect the ball then turn his/her torso towards first and then throw the ball.  If the ball only goes 1 to 3 feet, it’s the catcher’s ball because neigher the pitcher nor the 3rd baseman can get there in time.  If it’s straight up the middle, it’s the pitcher’s ball.  If it’s up the 1st base line, it’s either the catcher’s or pitcher’s ball– just call it.  Because this is a female bunting team, the catcher MUST aggressively defend the bunt when women are kicking.  What does that mean?  follow them as they run up to kick the ball.  As long as you are behind them when they kick, you are abiding by the rules.   The catcher does not need to stand directly behind the kicker– you want to stand angled to the left field line to give you a better throwing angle to 1st base. 
  • The pitcher needs to check that the fielders are set before pitching– we don’t want to catch ourselves off guard!
  • Ask it you have any questions!

Action Item 2:  Libations

If you haven’t brought beer/cups yet, you have this week and next to make amends. 

Action Item 3:  Theme

This week’s theme is 80s free-for-all.  What’s that mean?  It means pick whateverthehellyouwant that’s 80s.  The only stipuation is that you can’t repeat something you were already.  So if your 80s toy was Optimus Prime, you can’t repeat that (sorry Steve). 

HEAD’S UP:  Next week’s theme is a Footloose tradition– create your own Care Bear.  No, this is not another silly costume event.  You just need a creative Care Bear name.  As you can imagine, names usually get quite, um, well, dirty.  One of my favorite kickball e-mails was from an old teammate, Alisa, who wrote something to the effect of, “So I was on the Metro on my way home last night.  I was getting lots of looks, and thought it was just because I was looking sexy in my kickball outfit.  I was almost home when I realized that I still had my name tag on:  Bend Me Over Bear.”    HA! 

Action Item 4:  Bag o’ Schwag

That’s right, FOUR action items this week.  Does someone have the purple bag o’ schwag?  I can’t find it.  It would have been from 3 week’s ago (the week before Metal Mania, July 9 vs Angry Jays Army).  

Social Calendar:

July 31-Aug. 2:  Stu, a buddy of Aaron and me, is having people to his house on a lake in Delaware (about 20 min north of Rhehobeth Beach).   It’s a weekend of drinking games, bonfires on the small beach, wake boarding, and hot tubbing.  I’m sure he’d be cool with Footloose crashing the party (he’s on Legion of Doom).  Let me know if you want details.  Other kickballers will be there.   I’m leaving around 3pm on Friday, if you want a ride.  LET ME KNOW IF YOU ARE INTERESTED.

Monday Aug. 3:  Screen on the Green movie is “On the Waterfront.”  I’ll be there early to set up camp, eat dinner, and polish off a bottle of wine.  It’s really nice to get there early (6:30ish, if not earlier), grab a good spot, and chill.  I highly suggest you join us.   LET ME KNOW IF YOU ARE INTERESTED. 

Monday, Aug. 10:  The final SOTG movie is “Rebal Without a Cause”

Saturday, Aug. 22:  End-of-Season kickball party.  Book it.  Book it. 

It happened one summer, it happened one time
It happened forever, for a short time
A place for a moment, an end to dream
Forever I loved you, forever it seemed

One summer never ends, one summer never began
It keeps me standing still, it takes all my will
And then suddenly last summer

— Suddenly Last Summer, The Motels

A little something about The Motels from Wikipedia:

The Motels were a New Wave music band from the Los Angeles area best known for “Only the Lonely” and “Suddenly, Last Summer“, each of which peaked at #9 on the Billboard Hot 100 in 1982 and 1983, respectively.  

The first incarnation of The Motels formed in Berkeley, California, in 1971.   Hoping for better exposure and seeking a recording contract they made a move to Los Angeles in 1975. While in L.A., Lisa Brenneis left and the band changed its name to “Angels of Mercy” and then to “The Motels.”  In March 1978, Davis and future lead guitarist Jeff Jourard (formerly of a pre-fame version of Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers) decided to reform The Motels.  [Talk about a poor career decision!  But he was replaced in 1980 anyway.]  Wanna know more?  Go here.   

14 Responses to “And Then There Was One”

  1. Becky said

    A1: I’m in

    A2: I’ve done my libations duty (though found 20 rogue jello shots in my fridge that will be coming along if Emily doesn’t polish them off today at work. Yes, I brought them to work and put them in the community fridge)

    A3: I think I’ll be the A-Team.
    “In 1972 a crack commando unit was sent to prison by a military court for a crime they didn’t commit. These men promptly escaped from a maximum security stockade to the Los Angeles underground. Today, still wanted by the government, they survive as soldiers of fortune. If you have a problem, if no one else can help, and if you can find them, maybe you can hire: THE A-TEAM”

    A4: No idea where it is..

    (and I’m likely in for SOTG monday)

  2. Chelsea said

    1: I’m there

    2: Already fulfilled my beer duties

    3: I’m gonna be the amazing Banana Clip
    “As if 80s hair wasn’t crazy enough on its own, the banana clip added that little extra something to take your feathered bangs and layered tresses just a little further. In the unlikely event that you don’t know what a banana clip is, allow us to enlighten. Given its name for its shape, the banana clip is a hair accessory made popular in the 80s that allowed you to pull your hair back from each side, with the clip (in its banananess) following the contour of your head in the back. The effect is like a mane of hair running down the middle of the back of your head.”

    4: No clue 🙂

  3. Chris said

    Action 1:
    I shall attend….and I feel a doozy coming on for flipcup….might be a long night kiddies

    Action 2:
    Already fulfilled my beer/battery/schwag duties

    Action 3:
    I am MTV

    Action 4:
    I smoked it…I was confused

  4. aaron said

    If it’s 715 I won’t be there…have an improv performance tonight.

    I need to see Rebel Without a Cause.

  5. Breanne said

    A1:
    I’ll be there.

    A2:
    I’ll bring beer.

    A3:
    Kelly Bundy… she absolutely would have done the mud puddle belly flop last week.

    A4:
    Don’t know where the bag is.

  6. Russell said

    In and brought beer last week…

  7. Emily said

    1) I’m in! 🙂

    2) Fulfilled my libation duties….I have also graciously not succomb to the urge to polish off all the jello shots before noon.

    3) I’m Rubik’s Cube!

    In a classic Rubik’s Cube, each of the six faces is covered by 9 stickers, among six solid colours (traditionally white, red, blue, orange, green, and yellow).A pivot mechanism enables each face to turn independently, thus mixing up the colours. For the puzzle to be solved, each face must be a solid colour. Similar puzzles have now been produced with various numbers of stickers, not all of them by Rubik. The original 3×3×3 version celebrated its twenty-fifth anniversary in 2005.

    4) No idea what happened to the bag

  8. Steve said

    I will be there. I too will bring some beer. I will be He-Man!

  9. Fernanda said

    i will try to make it but i am preparing for a conference so i may get there late or i may just meet you guys at …mcfaddens…gross. If someone picks me up from my house i can bring beer too (the thought of lugging beer all the way to the metro stresses me out.)I will be a popple, only the best ever invented teddy bear/ball in the world.

  10. Carrie said

    1. I am in it to when it! – but not tonight I have movers coming Saturday and I haven’t made a dent in the packing yet.

    2. Brought beer already

    3. I will be wearing the name tag “chinese jumprope” and our team tshirt while I pack.

    4. Good luck. Maybe someone from another team stole it.

  11. Kristin said

    Sorry ya’ll I’m out tonight — family vacation in the Outer Banks for the week. I’ll be gone next week to, but that just means you have to win so I we can play another week of playoffs so I can be there 🙂

  12. “The Motels” Perform Live At German TV Show “Musikladen” in 1979…

    The Motels are a classic New Wave band from Los Angeles that started in 1975. They had various line up changes around charismatic singer and guitarist Martha Davis.
    On October 18, 1979 the German TV show Musikladen (public broadcaster ARD) broadcast a …

  13. Keep it up, bookmarked and referred some mates.

Leave a Reply

 
